Rick Wakeman – Rhapsodies (1979) (Vinyl) FLAC (tracks) music Lossless

Rick Wakeman - Rhapsodies (1979) (Vinyl) FLAC (tracks)
Artist: Rick Wakeman | Album: Rhapsodies | Label: A&M Records | Catalog #: AMLX 68 508 | Released: 1979 | Genre: Rock, Pop Rock, Symphonic Rock | Country: England

Most of Wakeman’s albums revolve around a concept; this double album’s only concept is of a collection of “rhapsodies,” which here seems to mean “enthusiastic and improvisational pieces.” The album is instrumental except for the opener, “Pedra de Gavea,” where the electronically treated vocals are presumably by Wakeman himself. Most of the pieces are concise for Wakeman, and very lively and bright, with engaging lead parts and well-chosen keyboard sounds (something Wakeman has not always managed). “Swan Lager” sets music by Tchaikovsky and Grieg to a reggae beat. Wakeman’s version of George Gershwin’s “Rhapsody in Blue” is actually a low point, but his version of Gershwin’s “Summertime” is nicely done. This was Wakeman’s last album for A&M Records.



A1. – Pedra De Gavea (4:15)
A2. – Front Line (3:47)
A3. – Bombay Duck (3:19)
A4. – Animal Showdown (Yes We Have No Bananas) (2:41)
A5. – Big Ben (4:01)
B1. – Rhapsody In Blue (5:32)
B2. – Wooly Willy Tango (3:25)
B3. – The Pulse (5:25)
B4. – Swan Lager (2:47)

Duration: 00:35:13


C1. – March Of The Gladiators (4:56)
C2. – Flacons De Neige (5:04)
C3. – The Flasher (5:36)
C4. – The Palais (2:22)
D1. – Stand-By (3:38)
D2. – Sea Horses (3:54)
D3. – Half Holiday (3:03)
D4. – Summertime (4:29)

Duration: 00:33:01

Single download

Main catalog


Bob Dylan – Shadows in the Night (2015) FLAC (tracks + .cue) VA – Bob Dylan: The 30th Anniversary Concert Celebration (1993-2014) FLAC (tracks + .cue) Manowar – Collection (2003) FLAC (image + .cue)

About the Author: